Opening Credits

Most days I imagine my life unfolding as chapters in a book.

On rare occasions, I find myself composing scenes for a movie.  My mind chooses camera angles, close ups, edits conversations, and even chooses a soundtrack. As we do most nights, when we are fortunate to have enough energy left unspent to enjoy a half hour of reading, I am thumbing through Hemmingway’s A Movable Feast.  Taking a moment to rest my eyes and snuggle deeper under the blanket, my mind began reminiscing of the halloween party we hosted two weeks ago.

Instead of snapshots of costumes, or youtube clips of memorable monster mash dancers, or audioclips retelling the latest clever joke, my mind’s eye viewed it as the opening credits to a movie.  Assimilating all my memories and redistributing the vibe of the party.  Setting the scene in our loft subtly furnished and surrounded by books.  Setting the mood with smiles on everyone’s faces and vivacious dance music.  Introducing the characters  as they arrive at the party in imaginative costumes, sharing laughs and beers.  As I imagined the camera angles, I could even sense where actor’s credits would fall on the screen.

All in all, the opening credits were fascinating to view in my mind’s eye.  I wished I could watch the rest of the movie, and it made me so thankful for the friends that surround me and make everyday interesting and fun.

Leave a comment